Day Out In London

Firstly, apologies for the break in posts, I have been extremely busy! We had 3 birthdays within my flat, including myself so we have spent a lot of time celebrating them all. This was all whilst trying to still fit in exams and revision time, and so time just got away from me. Trust us to have all the birthdays during exam season though! I thought it’d be a good idea to write about how we celebrated our birthdays in cheap (or sometimes not so cheap) student style.

First was Joe’s, and a couple of us went to town with her to do some shopping for the day and then went for a night out to celebrate. For mine, I was cooked breakfast and dinner, and went for another trip to see the ponies in between. Mine was the weekend of the big weekend, and although I didn’t get tickets I did watch some of the live stream in the student bar. I also caught most of it back in the flat on my laptop, I could hear the music from my room anyway! I was a bit disappointed that I couldn’t go to the festival in person but at least I wasn’t left aching from standing all day the crowds… (I’m trying to make myself feel better here).

Last was Jacks, who was the big 21! We went for a day out in London and it was a really good trip. Norwich is only a 2 hour train journey into London, making it super accessible. If you book the ticket well in advance, and use a rail card if you have one, you can get really cheap train tickets.

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

Victoria & Albert Museum

Victoria & Albert Museum

We visited 3 museums whilst we were there, the Science Museum, the Natural History Museum and the Victoria & Albert Museum (an art museum). The best part about this was they are all free and all on the same road! We spent all day in all three, so is totally worth the trip. Some of you coming to UEA may be from somewhere that isn’t close to London so may not have had the opportunity to visit it. In which case, make sure you take advantage of the access you have.

If it’s not visiting the free museums, there is tons of entertainment in London ranging from gigs to theatre shows, so just keep an eye out for events you might want to do to. You can do all of the typical sight-seeing of London as well including the London Eye, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, etc. There’s something for everyone in London, and you will be lucky enough to be only a couple of hours away from it!

Chiquito

Chiquito

Most importantly, I had to write about the food. It was the first time I’d ever been to Chiquito when I ate there in London and I thought it was really good. Really tasty food and at a reasonable price! I know there is one in riverside near Norwich train station so if you’re down town looking for a bite to eat, give it a look!

Leave a Reply

